Return to Headlines

Showcase Waynesville Schools to be held May 4

Showcase Waynesville Schools to be held May 4

The Waynesville R-VI School District Foundation will host the Third Showcase Waynesville Schools beginning at 5 p.m. on Thursday, May 4, 2023, in the Waynesville Career Center.

This elegant evening will begin at 5 p.m. with demonstrations, art displays and hors d'oeuvres. Dinner begins at 6:30 p.m. The cost is $100 per person or $700 for a table of eight. Tickets must be purchased in advance and are sold on a first-come, first-served basis. To reserve your seat, please contact Melissa Ash at 573-842-2006 or email her at Formal business or semi-formal attire is suggested.

The Waynesville R-VI School District will induct the following individuals into the Waynesville R-VI Wall of Leaders during the banquet: Dr. Carey Bottom (2021), Nelson Morgan (2021), Robert Keeney (2020) and Terry and Jan Primas (2020). The individuals were scheduled to be inducted into the Wall of Leaders in the years listed in parentheses behind their names; however, the event was canceled in those years due to COVID-19. Awardees were not selected for 2022 or 2023, but will be selected for 2024 and in future years.


Dr. Carey Bottom - (Lifetime Achievement–Alumni)

A 1968 Waynesville High School graduate, Dr. Carey Bottom earned bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees in chemistry from Missouri University of Science and Technology in 1972, 1975 and 1979. His superior technical expertise and understanding of business economics make him a go-to expert in pharmaceutical and related industries, leading start-up and existing ventures. A research chemist and product innovator, he held U.S. patents, published numerous scientific articles in chemistry and pharmaceutical sciences, and has been recognized by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration for advancing capsule technology, including breakthroughs in softgel capsule use.  He also served as a Captain in the U.S. Army Reserves, Military Intelligence. Dr. Carey Bottom is honored with the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award – Alumni Award.


Nelson Morgan (Outstanding Educational Professional)

As an early adopter of project-based learning, Nelson Morgan promoted hands-on activities to reinforce students’ understanding of history, while igniting a lasting passion. For 24 years, he combined his journalism degree, storytelling talent and his memory for trivia to bring history to life for his students. He initiated cross-discipline activities, including poetry units, journals, play performances, book reports and geography bees. His students’ History Day projects stretched the imagination, frequently winning district competitions. As a Navy veteran, he easily connected with military impacted students and also served as a mentor to new teachers, promoted recycling, embraced diversity and volunteered in the community. Nelson Morgan is being honored with the 2021 Outstanding Educational Professional Award.


Robert Keeney (Lifetime Achievement–Alumni)

An award-winning 1970 Waynesville High School graduate, Robert Keeney came from humble beginnings to succeed in playing four sports before earning a four-year football scholarship to the University of Missouri, where he played in two bowl games and earned his BS degree in Education. A distinguished Air Force ROTC graduate, he spent 22 years as a pilot in the Air Force and Minnesota National Guard, while also flying numerous commercial aircraft for 25 years. Now engaged in community service in Minnesota, he has become a role model through coaching, teaching and mentoring youth. He has been described as a man of great faith, unwavering character and a doer of good deeds for his community. Robert Keeney is honored with the 2020 Lifetime Achievement - Alumni Award.  


Terry and Jan Primas (Outstanding Educational Professionals)

Innovative instructors Jan and Terry Primas enriched the lives of intellectually and academically gifted students in the Waynesville R-VI district through the Learning Enrichment and Acceleration Program (LEAP). In 1979, the district-initiated LEAP, putting them in charge of developing differentiated and multi-disciplinary curriculum to enrich the academic pursuits and broaden cultural experiences of these students. Known for implementing community-based projects, their students utilized archaeology, document research and interpretive presentations to further study the Old Stagecoach Stop, where their involvement after retirement continues. They also led teacher training at the collegiate level for more than 30 years. Terry and Jan Primas are being honored with the 2020 Outstanding Educational Professionals award.   


About the Foundation

The Waynesville R-VI School District Foundation's Mission is “Promoting educational excellence for every child by raising, managing, and distributing private investments to benefit Waynesville R-VI students.”


The Waynesville R-VI School District Foundation is a non-profit (tax-exempt) organization that supports teachers and students and helps promote creative classroom projects within Waynesville R-VI Schools. The Waynesville R-VI Foundation is a partner with the Community Foundation of the Ozarks – an umbrella, non-profit agency that helps other non-profits manage their funds and offers clerical support, such as receipts for tax purpose.

For more information about the Foundation, go to To nominate someone for a future award, go to



RSVPs are required in advance for this event and are sold on a first-come, first-served basis. Tickets will not be sold at the door. The cost is $100 per person or $700 for a table of eight. To reserve your seat, please contact Melissa Ash at 573-842-2006 or email her at Formal business or semi-formal attire is suggested.


Carey BottomBob KeeneyNelson MorganPrimases


Issued March 30, 2023