Return to Headlines

NHS seniors honor teachers

NHS seniors honor teachers


During their final week of high school, Waynesville High School National Honor Society seniors expressed their gratitude for their teachers during the NHS Teacher Appreciation Banquet.


“As seniors approach graduation and reflect on their education, they recognize the importance of their teachers. Each NHS member delivers heartfelt words of gratitude for that one teacher who has had a significant impact,” said Bill DeMalade, the NHS sponsor and a recipient of the awards. “It's impactful. Before the night is over, there’s rarely a dry eye in the room.”


Each NHS senior is allowed to nominate just one teacher to receive an award. The banquet, which featured smoked brisket prepared by DeMalade and his crew, was held on May 13.


Teachers receiving awards were as follows:

Amber Earl

Amy Johnson

Benito Perez

Bill DeMalade

Charles Davis

Charles Williams

Christina Wadley

Curtis Wood

Danielle Fowers

Dawn Wilking

Eric Thornburg

Errica Vaughn

Gary Cook

Jake Kloeppel

James Stockmann

Janet Webster

John Box

Jon Dye

Kayla Wilson

Matt Johnson

Melissa Jones

Nancy Swick

Nick Parmley

Patrick Brooks

Peggy Arnold

Renita DeMalade

Robin Whitten

Rochelle Maubach

Sarah Friend

Shari Jackson

Shauna Smith

Shawneen Hefton

Steve Ward

Teresa Williams


"Issued May 16, 2019"