Return to Headlines

WHS hosts Military Appreciation Night and presents students with NMSI checks for AP exam scores

WHS hosts Military Appreciation Night and

presents students with NMSI checks for AP exam scores


Waynesville High School hosted Military Appreciation Night and presented checks to AP students on Feb. 8 at the home boys basketball game.


One of WHS’s Partners in Education – the 787th MP Battalion – received a standing ovation after reciting the Soldiers Creed.  In addition to interacting with fans throughout the gym, members of the 787th formed a tunnel leading to center court for qualifying AP students. To qualify, AP students earned a 3 or better on their AP exams in math, science or English language arts.


The names of the 52 students and 32 graduates from the class of 2018 were read and the students present were congratulated by Colonel Eric Towns, the U.S. Army Garrison Commander of Fort Leonard Wood; Waynesville R-VI Board of Education members Paul Shultz II, president; Dr. LeRoy Fulmer, vice president; Butch O’Riley, secretary; Dan Deering, treasurer; and Charles Quinn;  Dr. Brian Henry, Waynesville R-VI superintendent; and Randy Luebbert, Waynesville High School principal. 


WHS students and 2018 graduates earned a total of $10,900 -- $100 for each AP exam score of 3 or better. The funds were made available through a college and career readiness program from the National Math and Science Initiative (NMSI), thanks to a grant from the Department of Defense Educational Authority (DoDEA). Waynesville was the first school district in Missouri to implement this program and this is the fourth year for the checks to be presented to WHS students.


The recipients who are students are:

  1.    Paige Aldenberg
  2.    Brielle Amick
  3.    Breanna Beckner
  4.    Randa Bland
  5.    Makenzie Boden
  6.    Troy Bost
  7.    Sydney Breckinridge
  8.    Jordan Bright
  9.    Jakrissia Britton
  10.    Jessica Collado
  11.    Victor Andrew Daos
  12.    Katalina Dickinson
  13.    James Dukas
  14.    Jessica Dwyer
  15.    Rachael Evans
  16.    James Felix
  17.   Latrisha Ford
  18.    Zoie Antoinette Francisco
  19.     Chambre Garcia
  20.     Elissa Giles
  21.    Molly Handley
  22.    Ladarion Hardison
  23.    Destiny Howell
  24.    Cynthia Kroeger
  25.     Amarilyah Lane-Volz
  26.     Sojeong Lee
  27.     Cheyenne Levengood
  28.     Mackenzy Lowe
  29.     Megan McGarry
  30.     Darren McKenzie
  31.     Olga Morales
  32.     Collin Mourot
  33.     Jolie Newhouse
  34.     Charlene Noble
  35.     Bryan O’Barr
  36.     Karen Offringa-VanBelkum
  37.     Chase Porter
  38.     Austin Reed
  39.     Nicolas Reyes
  40.     Zharia Richards
  41.     Travan Richards
  42.     Jordan Rivera
  43.     Jacob Roam
  44.     Aliya Salcedo
  45.     William Schenkenfelder
  46.     Emily Snyder
  47.     Louisa Marie Veeck
  48.     Hunter Wages
  49.     Olivia Western
  50.     Jesse Whittaker
  51.     Madeline Whitten
  52.     Emily Wilson


The 2018 graduates who have already received their checks are as follows:


  1. Michelle Amato
  2. Travis Ashby
  3. Alyssa Avalos
  4. Bryanna Baze
  5. Shawn Becker
  6. Keaton Blackwell
  7. Diahjanique Bryan
  8. Cortnee Chartier
  9. Michael Cordova
  10.  Matthew Davenport
  11.  Noah Evans
  12.  Ethan Gatzemeyer
  13.  Olivia Grandberry
  14.  Katherine Handley
  15.  Savannah Harrold
  16.  Noah Hicks
  17.  Megan Howard
  18.  Megan Johnson
  19.  Matthew Jones
  20.  David Martin
  21.  Amari Milam
  22.  Bryan Moose
  23.  Brandon Murphy
  24.  Sebastian Nauta
  25.  Mackenzie Peterson
  26.  Christopher Ratiff
  27.  Ricky Rivera
  28.  Caitlin Sanford
  29.  Sean Sax
  30.  Zechariah Timko
  31.  Nicholas Waugh
  32.  Sara Yokeley


The high school’s AP teachers were also recognized for their work in helping students achieve the recognition. 


BB BB bb bb bb bb

"Issued February 11, 2019"