•    Waynesville R-VI School District    
    Guide to Accessing Standards-Based
    Grading Parent Supplements

    The Waynesville School District utilizes standards-based grading for grades K-6. The standards that are being assessed are aligned to the Missouri Learning Standards. The complete set of Missouri Learning Standards are available on the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education’s website, www.dese.mo.gov .

    The grade-level standards outline what students should know and be able to do by the end of the school year. As students progress through the year, teachers are looking for student growth towards meeting the expectations of the standards. For each standard, teachers administer a pre-test. After the pre-test, teachers provide instruction that supports the standard. There will be guided and independent activities. Teachers provide interim activities/observations that will be scored and entered in the gradebook. These interim activities/observations show the student’s progress towards meeting the standard. Following the unit of instruction, a post-test will be administered. Students who have not attained proficiency will continue to receive additional instruction tied to the standard so that the student can continue to work towards meeting the proficiency standards. The cycle of administering the pre-test, conducting interim activities/observations and administering the post-test may happen within a quarter or may be spread out over multiple quarters. At grade card time, students will be marked based on where the student currently is in respect to the expectations of the standard.

    To help parents to better understand this process we have created parent supplements for each grade level. In the parent supplement you will see each standard as well as the grade card reporting topic. To learn more about each standard and how the standard is assessed, please navigate to the grade level curriculum document tabs (Pre-K to 6th Grade Curriculum Documents). Within each set of doucments you will have access to the scope and sequence, unit planner and proficiency scales for each instructional standard. Teachers utilize the proficency scales to detremine student progress towards a particular standard.

    Standards-Based Grading Guides

    Pre-K: 3-year-olds

    Pre-K: 4-year-olds


    1st Grade

    2nd Grade

    3rd Grade

    4th Grade

    5th Grade

    6th Grade