Following a week of activities, Courtwarming will be held this evening, Jan. 30, at Waynesville High School when the WHS Tigers take on the Glendale Falcons.  The Courtwarming candidates and their grade level are as follows (left to right): Gracie Barkefelt (9); Nina Kizzee (10); Cheianne Felix (11); Janae' Taylor (12); Resha Swanson (12); Chelsey Howser (12); and Ive Rios (12).

    Comments (-1)
  • Scott earns distinction as Master Athletic Administrator

    The National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA) is pleased to announce that Joshua Scott, director of district MSHSAA activities at the Waynesville R-VI School District, has been recognized by this association as a Certified Master Athletic Administrator.  To earn this distinction, Scott has demonstrated exemplary knowledge, contributions and on-going professional development in the field of interscholastic athletic administration. The voluntary certification process included a thorough evaluation of the candidate's educational background, experience, NIAAA leadership courses and professional contributions. It is culminated with a practical written project.
    Scott is one of a very elite group of interscholastic athletic administrators nationwide to attain this level of professionalism.  The NIAAA is a national professional organization consisting of all 50 state athletic administrator associations and more than 8,000 individual members. It is dedicated to promoting the professional growth of high school athletic administrators and preserving the educational nature of interscholastic athletics and the place of these programs in the secondary school curriculum.

    Joshua Scott, director of district MSHSAA activities at the Waynesville R-VI School District, receives a certificate of recognition from Dr. Brian Henry, superintendent, during January's Board of Education meeting.

    Comments (-1)
  • Thespian members showcase talents, 1 wins scholarship
    Waynesville High School took 14 members of the local chapter of the International Thespian Society to the annual conference in Kansas City.  The conference had more than 80 member schools and more than 1,700 students participating in everything from workshops to scholarship auditions.  WHS had two students competing for scholarships, three students for the individual event competition and an Improv Olympix team.  The Improv Olympix team received distinguished marks on their three rounds of performance from the judges and entertained the audience with their on-the-spot scene work and humor.
    The two students who competed for scholarships did spectacularly well. Four colleges called Hailey Hance to receive more information about attending their programs. Emily Heinlein won a $1,000 scholarship for theatre education, beating out 25 other students at the conference who made it to the final rounds.
    The 14 students who attended, top row: Jarrod Parker, Derek Ray, Jackson Haedt, Kenzie Beard, Eric Norman Jr.; middle row: Cinnamon Bragg, Kate Dooley, Brooklyn Smith, Maegan Vogtman; bottom row: Hailey Hance, Aidan Richardson, Emily Anderson, Rebekah Sharpe and Emily Heinlein.